menu

Town Board Meetings

2nd Thursday at 7PM
Annual Meeting
3rd Tuesday in April

Recycling Center

Open Wed. 12-4PM
Sat. 10AM-4PM
Behind Town Hall

Dog Licensing


HOW/WHERE TO OBTAIN A DOG LICENSE:

The only document you need to provide in order to obtain a dog license is the Certificate of Rabies Vaccination, which is signed and issued by your veterinarian. If you have lost this document, you must contact your veterinarian for a duplicate copy; the County Clerk's Office does not keep your certificates on file. THE CERTIFICATE MUST BE SHOWN EVERY YEAR. Invoices, wellness reports, and other such documents are NOT acceptable, because they do not include all the information required for a dog license.

During the December/January property tax collection time, you may license your dog through the mail with your municipal treasurer. If you own property in Waushara County, a reminder notice to this effect should be included with your property tax bill.

You may license your dog with the Waushara County Clerk's Office at any time of the year. You can do this in person at the County Courthouse or through the mail. If done via mail, make checks payable to and send to the Waushara County Clerk at P.O. Box 488, Wautoma, WI 54982.

APPLICABLE FEES:

If you obtain your license during the first three months of the year, fees are $5 for spayed/neutered dogs, and $10 for unspayed/unneutered dogs.

** As of April 1, a LATE FEE of $5 per dog is charged, bringing the fees up to $10 for a spayed/neutered dog and $15 for an unspayed/unneutered dog.**

REQUIRED BY STATE LAW:

Wisconsin law requires that anyone with a dog more than 5 months old must annually obtain a dog license. A dog license can only be issued after the owner shows proof that the dog is vaccinated against rabies. This law applies to ALL dog owners, whether you live within city/village limits or way out in the country. Dog licenses are valid for the calendar year: January 1 to December 31. A dog without a license tag attached to its collar when outdoors (unless it is in a fenced-in area, or, in certain circumstances, hunting) is subject to impoundment and/or fines up to $100 for a first-time offense.
See Wisconsin State Statute about Dogs.

For more information, go to Waushara County website